Permissions

There are various permissions associated with users in OppiaMobile, some based on the default Django users system and others based on extra permissions the user has been specifically given.

  • Admin User - this is the standard Django superuser (https://docs.djangoproject.com/en/1.8/topics/auth/default/) - a typical user with this role would be a system/server administrator
  • Staff - this is the standard Django staff user (https://docs.djangoproject.com/en/1.8/topics/auth/default/) - a typical user would be a project manager/officer, college or ministry staff, essentially users who need to access all the data/reports within the server, but not necessarily responsible for the technical maintenance or server level admin.
  • Teachers/Students - in Django permissions terms, both teachers and students are standard users. The only difference between them is that a teacher has been assigned the teacher status to a particular cohort of students. A cohort is just a group of teachers and students assigned to a particular set of courses. A user may have the role of teacher on one set of courses, but then be a student on other courses.

Permissions on the OppiaMobile Server dashboard:

Activity/Action Admin User Staff Teacher Student
Login Yes Yes Yes Yes
Access Django Admin Yes No (1) No No
Upload Course Yes Yes No (2) No (2)
Bulk Upload Users Yes No No No
View Cohorts Yes Yes Yes (3) No (4)
Add New Cohort Yes Yes No No
Edit Existing Cohort Yes Yes No No
View course list Yes Yes Yes (5) Yes (5)
View draft courses Yes Yes No No
View course recent activity Yes Yes Yes (6) No (7)
View course activity detail Yes Yes Yes (6) No (7)
View course quizzes Yes Yes Yes (6) No (7)
View student activity (all activity) Yes Yes No (6) No (7)
View student activity (for specific course) Yes Yes Yes (6) No (7)
View student activity (for specific cohort) Yes Yes Yes (6) No (7)
View server level analytics Yes Yes No No

Notes:

  1. Staff are able to access the Django admin URL, however they do not have permissions to view any of the data models or actual data through this
  2. Any user (teacher or student) may be given permissions to upload courses by changing the ‘can upload’ field in their UserProfile to be true.
  3. Teachers may only view cohorts that they are teachers in.
  4. Students may view their own activity within a cohort
  5. Students and Teachers may view all the courses available on the server, except those that are still in draft stage
  6. A teacher may only view the activity for courses they are assigned to be teachers on, and then only for the students in the cohorts they are teachers in.
  7. Students may see their own activity within a course or cohort - but not anyone elses

Permissions in the OppiaMobile client app:

In the Oppia client (phone) app generally all users have the same functionality and permissions. The only difference is those users who are teachers who can the monitoring pages directly within the app. For admin and staff users to see these monitoring pages, they need to be explicitly assigned the teacher role in the appropriate cohorts and courses.

Earning points

In the default settings:

  • Admins and staff users do not earn points or badges for their activity in courses.
  • Teachers do not earn points or badges in the courses they are teachers on
  • If non admin or staff users are given permissions to upload courses, then they will not earn points or badges in the courses they upload.

These defaults may be changed in the server settings.